HOW DID I ORGANIZE MY THEMED BIRTHDAY PARTY?

I honestly don’t have any idea how to start off this entry after being on a hiatus before end of 2016. You can’t blame the Crazy Cat Lady after having her looooong vacation and you all know how I had fun. This is one of my backlog post from last year and I don’t know if I should call this as “DIY”. But I think I should, as I am proud to tell y’all that I organize a themed birthday party for myself. First off, here’s a little story.
I just turned 29 last 6th of December but I had to celebrate it in advance. I am scheduled to come back in PNG , 1st of December and so I decided to have my party, 26th of November. Few weeks before my pre-birthday celebration, I had some preparations with the help of my sister and his boyfie. This is actually my first to organize and I want to share some tips on how to organize a themed party on a budget.

CHOOSE A THEME. It seem unnecessary, but a themed birthday party will help you what decoration to buy, what cake and etc. I am a little bit “kikay” as per my friends(lol) so I’ve chosen the Coachella Theme. I had some research, it is likely a bohemian style and a mix of Indian, with flower crowns on their head, gold tattoos and dream catchers.

VENUE. The cheapest place of all is your home. So don’t think of renting or occupying a restaurant or any of the event place or whatsoever. Your home will always be your first option for a party venue.

MAKING AND SENDING INVITATION. Since we are talking about “on a budget” why not make your own invitation using your app on your phone. Just look what I did with my invitation.


I dowloaded this flower crown template on Google( © to the owner), this will be the background/design of the invitation. I thought of using the middle part of the template to put text on it. See this,

img_6977
I used “PHONTO” app for the texts and objects on it (arrow) and chose my preferred font, which is more on cursives.   Oops, I forgot to tell that the color of texts should match with the color of your theme. Mine is Yellow, Pink and a touch of blue.

So after making your invitation, there is no need to print them out. You all know how the technology changed our lives. We can just send our inviations via social medias. Apart from saving money on spending ink and paper, we have also saved Mother Earth on reducing paper consumption. Oha!

It is only Family, other relatives, and close friends who I invited as this will be also my despedida party.

ORDERING YOUR CAKE. You must order your cake 1 week ahead of your birthday. I chose a Dream Catcher Cake to match with the theme and 2 dozen of cupcakes.

img_7010
I like my idea of putting the cupcakes in the Ferris Wheel Stand. It adds up the Coachella vibe. I got them from Divisoria which cost Php 500 but I made tawad to ate so I got them for only Php400. Also, this can still be use for future parties or maybe can rent to others

We ordered this Dream Catcher Cake from Sweetiepatootie (click to check page). They are home based baking which offers made to order cakes, cupcakes and other pastries located at San Juan St. Sta Cruz, Cavite City and I highly recommend. Their fondant and frosting is not super sweet and kinda smooth. They also have a soft-sponge moist cake(I don’t know how to describe) and the cake lasts I think for a week. So far, one of the best cakes that I’ve tasted.

img_7042-1

Dream Catcher Cake, Php 1,700

img_7111
img_7032Cupcakes, Php 300 per Dozen

The arrow topper was just made by my Sister, Arlyn.

DECORATIONS AND OTHER PARTY NEEDS. I chose Yellow, Pink and Blue as color scheme for my party. Since I both have theme and chosen color, it is very easy to buy decoration and party needs. But wait, I did not buy all the decorations, but instead, I’ve looked something what I can use at home or what I can improvise.

img_7068
I placed at the entrance my Mom’s pink bicycle I used as decor and can be a basket container for the flower crowns and gold tattoos. Flower crowns used by the guest as headpiece upon their arrival.

img_7055

Bicycle – no cost

Flower Crown – Php 250/dozen, but got them for Php200/dozen at Divisoria

Party Signs and colored chalks – Php 30, bought from the nearest Public Market

img_7007
My mom, sis and I set up this table for the menu and even put the decors.

Balloon Letter – Php 15.00 per letter, Divisoria

Colorful Buntings – I made them out of scrap or used constuction paper. So no cost, only labor.

img_7011
Well of course I want the tablewares to match with the theme. Oops, I forgot to take photo of the plate.

Tablewares – Php 100.00/ 3 packs, Divisoria

I did not put on balloons, I don’t know why but I feel like I am too old for the balloons, haha but see this decor I put at the bar where the tablewares are.

img_7067
img_7041
Coluful Lanterns Medium Size Php 100/ 3 pieces

I am happy that I did not spend much money on buying party needs. ‘Cause most of  them are discounted. I suggest that to buy them in Divisoria especially if you’re buying bulks or wholesale.

MENU. I am proud to say that my Mom really cooks good food. Her specialty, Pork Hamonado and Chicken ala King is one of the best(JSYK). Her spagetti is one of the best too so I ask to have that spagetti on the menu.

img_7066
Spagetti, Pancit, Puto and Fried Chicken , all were cooked by my Nanay. Thanks to my Nanay who prepared these foodies.

Valenciana – the known dish and called as Pagkain ng Bayan in our town General Trias, Cavite. Rice cooked in coconut milk and margarine with potatoes, raisins, belled pepper, pork and chicken. Php, 800/big bilao

Fresh Lumpia- not sure with the ingredients, but the only thing I am sure with is there’s carrots and turnips in there. Php 450.00/small bilao

Valenciana and fresh lumpia were both ordered because I don’t want my mom to cook all the menu. It’s too much for her.

GIVEAWAY. At first I thought of Chokers as giveaways but I realized that I have male guests too so I chose Dream Catcher instead.

img_7110
I have been looking all over in Divi but I can’t find a small size or keychain size Dream Catcher. And guess where did I get all of these, I got them all in Boracay. They sell it for Php 35 so I had to talk to ate and make a deal. I ask ate what if I get 30pcs, how much will it be? Ate was just too nice, she gave the dream catcher for only Php20. So I got the 30pcs for Php600. Thanks to ate.

OUTFIT. I ask all the guest to go on with the vibe. Wear something floral or anything coachella style. Chokers, flower crown and ankle boots will do.

img_7027

My sister from another mother, Gal Pal Macs.

My Childhood Bff, Anno

img_7082
My beloved cousin, Chie

img_7081
Of course, my one and only Sis.

As the birthday celebrant, I crowned myself with this gorgeous headpiece I got from Divi for only Php 90

img_7061
Shame on those who think that I am living unhappy and boring life as I am still single, not married at the age of 29. I am telling you all this now, “I don’t regret anything at all”. Just look how I have been blessed and surrounded with amazing people.

I thank God for another year of my life. I know it’s too late to say this to y’all but I wanted to thank all those people who helped me to make this happen, my Nanay, Sis and her boyfie, thanks all for your efforts. To my family and friends who came, for those who didn’t, I know that we still have next time and I understand why you weren’t be able to come. To all my relatives in the US, you know how I wished that we’re all together to celebrate my Birthday. Let’s plan that next year, haha. To all who sent greetings and their wishes on Facebook, thanks all.

Well I hope that I helped you out with all my tips. If you’re planning to throw a themed party like this, the key is, have time on thinking, research and be creative.

For FAQ’s you can all leave your questions on the comment box section. Feel free to ask 😊😊

💛

Lin

3 thoughts on “HOW DID I ORGANIZE MY THEMED BIRTHDAY PARTY?

Leave a comment